Board of Directors

The District Board consists of three Directors who are publicly elected and serve for four-year terms.   The Directors serve in the capacity of President, Secretary, and Treasurer of the District.   The District is also allocated one seat on the Board of Directors of the Ross Valley Paramedic Authority and two seats on the Board of Directors of the RVFD Joint Powers Authority.  These seats are also filled by District Directors.

The Board of Directors meets regularly on the third Thursday of February, May, August, and November, and occasionally at other times as needed.  These meetings are open to the public.  Directors may also represent the District at meetings of other public agencies.  Current meeting announcements, agendas, and minutes are available on our meetings page...


Director Shortall retired from San Francisco Fire Department as Asst. Deputy Chief / Emergency Manager.  He promoted through the ranks from Firefighter to Asst. Deputy Chief, and served as San Francisco Fire EMS Chief, Deputy Director San Francisco Office of Emergency Services, General Manager Bay Area Super Urban Area Security Initiative.  Director Shortall serves as a Director on the Board of the Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District, Ross Valley Fire Dept, FIRESafe MARIN, and Marin Emergency Radio Authority, and is Disaster Chair at Marin County Red Cross.  Rich has a Bachelor of Science (BS) in East Asian Studies from University of California, Los Angeles

47 Legend Road
San Anselmo, CA 94960
(415) 457-5271 (phone) 
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Thomas J. Finn, Secretary

Thomas Finn is a Ross Valley native.  He completed his undergraduate schooling at the University of California at Davis, and received his Juris Doctorate from the University of San Francisco School of Law.  He has served on the Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District Board of Directors since 1999.  His service on the Ross Valley Paramedic Authority Board began in 2006, and included a term as president of the Board from 2009-2011. 

1040 Butterfield Road
San Anselmo, CA 94960
(415) 453-8488 (phone)
(415) 256-8398 (fax)
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Sharon Adams, Treasurer

Appointed June 2017, Chris Warner filled the seat vacated by Chris Warner.



A Sleepy Hollow resident since 1958,  Frank retired as Chief Instrument Engineer of the Chevron Oil Company after a long and incredibly productive career.   Frank has served as both Vice-President and President of the Sleepy Hollow Homes Association (SHHA), SHHA Pool Chairman, Scoutmaster of Troop 50 (with two sons as Eagle Scouts and one as Life Scout), and technical editor for "Bicycling" magazine and other publications.  He has authored four books on bicycling, the best-known being "The Dancing Chain: History and Development of the Derailleur Bicycle."  Frank has long served as a Lector and Eucharistic Minister at St. Rita's Church, Fairfax, where the family attends.

Frank became a SHFPD director in 1982, serving as Board President in later years.  He represented Sleepy Hollow as a non-voting member of the Ross Valley Fire Department (RVFD) from 1995 until 2010 when, after years of effort, Sleepy Hollow successfully achieved two voting seats on the board.  Frank continued to serve as a voting Director, and then as the RVFD President in 2012.  He was a founding member of the Ross Valley Paramedic Authority (RVPA) 1982, working hard to ensure that every emergency medical response into Sleepy Hollow includes professional firefighter paramedics who are highly-trained and properly equipped.